Image from Michigan.gov
See the full Scanner Law on the Michigan.gov website here.
Here’s what must happen to claim the bounty:
- Price must be marked (on the shelf or on the product but tags are not required on the items any longer)
- Automatic Scanner must register a price higher than the price (bounties do not have to be paid on sale prices if it scans at regular price). If the item is on sale and it scans for the regular price, you are only entitled to a price adjustment and not the bounty.
- Transaction must be completed (cashed out)
- Price difference must be brought to the attention of the store within 30 days
- You must have the receipt showing the overcharge
Here’s what you are entitled to:
- The difference between what was charged and what the product was marked
- PLUS 10 times the difference with the minimum bounty of $1.00 and maximum of $5.00 (It’s not in the FAQ’s, but I’ve read in the past that no bounty is due if the over charge is under $.10) – Any overcharge more than $.50 only has to pay the difference + $5.00
- IF the retailer refuses to pay, you have the right to file a lawsuit and collect $250 or actual damages (whichever is more) plus some additional legal fees
- Refund in cash (maybe return credit to card used, that’s not outlined), they may NOT (according to the FAQ’s) force you to take store credit
Some other things to know:
- Identical items that are overcharged DO NOT qualify for additional bounty. You are entitled to the refund of difference on each one you bought
- Multiple scanning errors on NONidentical items in the same transaction DO qualify for separate bounties
- Stores have up to two business days to provide your refund
- Stores can not require you to provide identifying information as a requirement for obtaining the bounty
The Michigan Scanner Law FAQ’s on the Michigan.gov Website do a good job of laying a lot of this out. I’ve not had an issue with any stores in the last couple years over scanner law. Many stores know they must do this and do it automatically (in my experience). If they don’t do it automatically, I’ve simply mentioned the scanner law and they processed it.
Hope this helps!